ISB interview… done!

Done with my ISB interview yesterday in Mumbai. Went fine, but get a feeling that the interviews won’t impact the final decisions in most cases. It will be the diversity factor and the impression they formed from your application.

Here is the interview exp in brief:

Location: Mumbai, Panel 2, 9 am.

At around 8.30 am, got word “ridiculous” for the 100 word essay. Since the interview started 45 mins late, technically had time of about 1.25 hours to complete the essay. I however finished it in 10-15 mins, didn’t want to think much on it somehow.

My profile is: 5 years current exp, IT Services 1 year, Rest in IT product startups, 710 GMAT.

The interview:
Two people. One guy(G),perhaps an alum. One lady(L), perhaps faculty.

G: Can you describe your career after 12th and also the reasons for the decisions you took.
Me: Provided a brief summary with emphasis on work experience, which I think is strong.
G: Asked some minor follow up questions which I don’t remember right now.
L: So why MBA now? You have had a good run so far?
Me: Explained the desire to add more value to the success of organizations I work for. Explained the business challenges I experienced in the startups( My last employer had shut down India office recently, etc)
G(well familiar with this MBA reason): But these things happen however good business leadership is. How would MBA help?
L: So what were the innovative initiatives you took?
Me: Gave instances involving different teams in organization such as Marketing, sales, prod mgmt. Both seem satisfied.
L: Why a sudden interest in community service? (I had joined an NGO about 5 months ago)
Me(Caught off-guard): Blabbered something about the need to address the particular problem. They looked okay but not very impressed.
G: Suppose you are a delegate of indian IT to Barack Obama, how would you convince him to do outsourcing.(Came up from my on earlier response)
Me: Handled Okay. Explained in these tough financial conditions, US businesses will do well to stream line themselves and focus on core business. Indian IT is still cost effective and has expertise. We can help them get over these times.
G: Are you saying indian IT has solution to this meltdown?
Me: No. But we can help for sure. With our expertise, low cost. Repeated. Should have brought in more perspectives perhaps.
G: You mentioned wireless networks sometime ago.(I worked in a WiFi company recently and had said wireless is hot these days in India while explaining the initiatives I took). What will be the market size in India.
Me: Handled okay. But should have prepared this one. Anyway, as usual, they looked at the approach and seemed satisified. While I was scribbling in the scratch-pad, I saw the guy showing something in my application/his assessment to the lady and the lady nodded. What was that- Admitted/Ding?
G: Any questions you have?
Me: Asked an okay one. They explained.
Had some discussion. Explained my entrepreneurial inclination too.
Me: Thanked them for their time and the great effort being put up by the AdCom to handle things, appreciated Mr Menon’s effort at PG)
G: Thanks for that. I would convey to Mr Menon too.

I have played my part with around 85-90% efficiency. Not that bad given that giving your 100% dream performance in unknown conditions is not that easy. Let’s see if that proves enough in the end. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Comments
One Response to “ISB interview… done!”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] not remarkable and got that in the app feedback too. For detailed interview exp, you can see this: ISB interview… done! My travelogue to the MBA milestone…. Was confident of putting up a far better show this time. But alas… They say – […]



Leave a comment